View Full Version : Virus
B.E.L.B.H.D.
07-21-2004, 08:08 PM
It seems apparent that somone in my house opened an e-mail attachment that they should have left alone(fools). I have found out that the worm is only 5 days old. I had been seeing these e-mails for a couple of days, but I definitely knew to just delete them. http://vil.nai.com/vil/content/Print126795.htm
This is only the second worm/virus/spyware I have ever encountered, so I guess I can say that I have kept the comp fairly clean. The first was the cool web search virus. This basically just set my homepage to there website, and caused many pop-ups.
I did find it humorous to see what spoofed names the virus took on. I had 481 instances of the file on my computer.
sys_xp(the original)
Ahead Nero 7.exe
Windown Longhorn Beta Leak.exe
Opera 8 New!.exe
WinAmp 6 New!.exe
WinAmp 5 Pro Keygen Crack Update.exe
Adobe Photoshop 9 full.exe
Matrix 3 Revolution English Subtitles.exe
ACDSee 9.exe
Microsoft Office 2003 Crack, Working!.exe
Microsoft Windows XP, WinXP Crack, working Keygen.exe
Wow! I am so lucky to have all of those sneak peeks. There are two on the list that I would have deleted even if I thought they were real. ;). Is ACDSee an actual program? Well that's my story. BTW, the Stinger tool worked perfectly and my system is working perfectly again, with no traces of the virus.
DON'T CLICK THE PAPER CLIP.
acozz
07-21-2004, 08:10 PM
I like to download all the virii I can and then let them battle it out for supremacy of my system.
Hanzo
07-21-2004, 11:55 PM
I like to download all the virii I can and then let them battle it out for supremacy of my system.
Why is that ? Does it improve you internet experience or the performance of your system ?
:cheeky:
Mootang
07-22-2004, 05:46 AM
ACDSee is an actual program but 9.0 hasn't come out yet. 7.0 hasn't even come out yet.
I'd have to say that virus is funny in a non-funny virus kind of way.
fatal error
07-22-2004, 08:47 AM
windows IS a virus.http://www.quinnware.com/forum/images/emots/post/ermm.gif
Todd The Kiwi
07-22-2004, 08:58 AM
ACDSee is an actual program
i have ACDsee 6 powerpack (and so do some others here)
it's all good
there's a program called (DENEBA) CANVAS that appears to be either made or perhaps just hosted by them.
it's an 'image editor' in a similar vein (league? you decide) to photoshop et al
and costs $349 US CANVAS (http://www.acdsystems.com/english/Products/CanvasPro/index?CMP=ILC-HomeLeftProdCentric3&CRA=ENmoreinfo)
ace2701
07-22-2004, 01:15 PM
. Is ACDSee an actual program? Well that's my story. BTW, the Stinger tool worked perfectly and my system is working perfectly again, with no traces of the virus.
DON'T CLICK THE PAPER CLIP.
Believe it or not, I still use ACDSee beta1 at home. It's a great viewer. Doesn't have all the options of Irfanview, but it's great for just viewing jpg and gif.
B.E.L.B.H.D.
07-22-2004, 04:49 PM
I'd have to say that virus is funny in a non-funny virus kind of way.
I think it is their ploy to get you to click on the files.
ACDSee is an actual program but 9.0 hasn't come out yet. 7.0 hasn't even come out yet.
Nor have WinAMP 6, Nero 7, Opera 8, or Photoshop 9....
B.E.L.B.H.D.
07-23-2004, 05:11 PM
Nor have WinAMP 6, Nero 7, Opera 8, or Photoshop 9....
I know, I told you I was lucky...
Wow! I am so lucky to have all of those sneak peeks.
:grin:
madjo
07-25-2004, 09:04 PM
btw, I wouldn't call Coolwebsearch a virus... since it doesn't reproduce itself (it doesn't send a copy of itself through email, at least I haven't encountered one :-) )
it is more like "spyware"...
but that is just semantics ;-) both are evil!
hedge
07-26-2004, 09:29 AM
Mootang, you might wanna change your location thing, its raping the websites layout hard :shocked:
rorythedog
07-26-2004, 10:42 AM
Mootang, you might wanna change your location thing, its raping the websites layout hard :shocked:
Ditto man. You need to lose that location thing.
B.E.L.B.H.D.
07-26-2004, 10:08 PM
btw, I wouldn't call Coolwebsearch a virus... since it doesn't reproduce itself (it doesn't send a copy of itself through email, at least I haven't encountered one :-) )
it is more like "spyware"...
but that is just semantics ;-) both are evil!
Yea I know...
* Redirections to CoolWebSearch related pages
* Redirections when mistyping URLs
* Redirections when visiting Google
* Enormous IE slowdowns when typing
* IE start page/search page changing on reboot
* Sites in the IE Trusted Zone you didn't add
* Popups in Google and Yahoo when searching
* Errors at startup mentioning WIN.INI or IEDLL.EXE
* Unable to change or see certain items in IE Options
* Unable to access IE Options at all
It is basically a bad hijacker.
kronokross813
07-30-2004, 06:42 PM
windows IS a virus.http://www.quinnware.com/forum/images/emots/post/ermm.gif
this is the most true statement i've read all week LoL
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.